CSA Cooking: Pizza

-

We pick up our next share on Thursday, so the produce is dwindling. I tried to think of a way to use up the huge bunch of cilantro, some beets, and the remaining garlic scapes, when it hit me: pizza.

I made up my favourite no rise pizza crust (note: I make a half recipe; I find the full recipe creates too thick a crust).

In the food processor, I mixed up a big bunch of cilantro, three garlic scapes, and about a 1/2 cup of walnuts. As it whirled I drizzled in olive oil, and seasoned with salt and pepper. Let’s call it parve pesto.

I spread the pesto onto the unbaked crust. I peeled and sliced, thinly, a couple small beets, then added them. Sliced mushrooms, threw them on. Fresh mozzarella, on as well. (I’d meant to add some packed in water artichoke hearts, but forgot. Alas.)

Bake at 400F for 11 minutes. Broil for an additional couple minutes. Voila! Super tasty tastiness. And a great way to use up CSA odds and ends.

One Response to “CSA Cooking: Pizza”

  1. this looks absolutely beautiful! Come and share this masterpiece with the rest of the party…http://inherchucks.com/2012/06/14/whats-in-the-box-30/. Looking forward to seeing you there :)

Leave a Reply

